SoCG Test of Time Award 2023


The SoCG Test of Time Award 2023 goes to The CGAL Project and Herbert Edelsbrunner, Leonidas J. Guibas, and Micha Sharir for their 1988 paper The complexity of many faces in arrangements of lines and of segments (proceedings version: [doi]; journal version: [doi]).

Call for Nominations

The SoCG Test of Time Award, instated three years ago, recognizes papers published at the Proceedings of the Annual Symposium on Computational Geometry (SoCG). An award will be given to a paper published in SoCG no later than 2003. More than one paper may be selected for the award.

Nomination Procedure

Anyone in the computational geometry community may nominate a paper by submitting the nomination via e-mail to [email protected] with a subject line of SoCG Test of Time Award. The nomination should contain a brief explanation of the impact of the nominated paper(s). The deadline for submitting the nomination is February 28, 2023.


The winners are selected by a committee appointed by the SoCG steering committee and for 2023 it consists of Pankaj K. Agarwal (Duke University), Siu-Wing Cheng (HKUST), and Raimund Seidel (Saarland University).

In selecting the Test of Time Award, the Committee will pay particular attention to long term impact. This impact can come in many forms and some possibilities are to:

  • open up a new area of research
  • introduce new techniques
  • solve a problem of lasting importance. The selection will be announced by March 15, 2023.

About the Award

This is the fourth SoCG Test of Time Award. The winners of the previous awards can be found at

The 2023 award winners will be presented at CG Week 2023, to be held in Dallas, Texas, June 12-15, 2023.